Konkaikomyo-ji temple, located in Kurodanicho, Sakyo-ku, Kyoto city, proudly ranks alongside Chion-in temple as one of the head temples of the Jodo sect. the temple was founded in 1175 by Priest Honen, the founder of the Jodo sect.
The temple’s Sango(honorific mountain name prefixed to a temple's name) is Shiunzan and It is known to locals as “Kurodani-san”.
Mieido hall(Daiden hall) can be seen at the end of the stone steps. on the left is the Shoro(bell tower).
(left) The warriors who visited Honen hung their armor on this pine tree and ordained as Buddhist monks, leading it to be called “Yoroi-kake-no-matsu”(the pine tree hung a armor).
The temple is also great to visit as a well-kept secret spot for viewing the cherry blossoms in spring or the autumn leaves in winter without being bothered by crowds.